Book Stuff.

Got this from my friend Bridget over at Life at Le.Reims, thought I’d give it a try! Let me know in comments what you’re reading now.  Should I start reading Game of Thrones? Is it as good as I’ve heard?

1. What book are you reading now?

I am not reading anything right now, sad to say.  I need to get to the library.  My love for reading that fueled my journey towards getting a Master’s Degree in Literature, let me show you it.  Not.

2. What book did you just finish?

Dad is Fat by Jim Gaffigan.  He is a funny guy.  Books like his fascinate me because it is the sort of genre I’d like to write more of: short, personal stories revolving around some type of theme.  I actually have written a book just like that, except I have to re-write half of it since I finished it five years ago and not much in it is relevant any more.  But Dad is Fat made me laugh out loud on several occasions, and I’d recommend it for a light read!

3. What do you plan to read next?

I would love, love love to read “The Good Mother Myth: Redefining Motherhood to Fit Reality.”  The first sentence in that book of essays reads as follows: “The first time I dropped my daughter Sonya on her head from a very great height, she was eight months old.”  I’ve never dropped my son on his head, but I feel this book and I could be friends, is all I’m saying.

But I also feel as though I need to not read books about parenting, because I start thinking about my own particular brand of parenting, and then I worry if it’s as good as it should be, and what if my kid ends up as a serial killer, or even one of those “maybe he killed people but he did it for love” type people like Bates on Downton Abbey, and I don’t want to raise any type of killer, even a Bates, okay?

So…another book I’d like to read that’s not related to parenting? Probably whatever Ann Patchett’s got going on next.  She’s one of my favorite novelists.

4 .What book do you keep meaning to finish?

Suite Francaise.  I started it just before I got married and even took it on my honeymoon, but didn’t feel much like reading about the Nazi occupation of France by an author who was herself arrested and deported (to Auschwitz, where she was killed) while on the beach, hanging out with my new husband.  But it’s one of those that whenever I see it, I feel the twinge to at least give it a finish.  

5. What book do you keep meaning to start?

Anything by Evelyn Waugh that’s not Brideshead Revisited.*  Brideshead is one of my favorites, but I’ve never gotten around to reading anything else’s of his.

6. What is your current reading trend?

I used to read a lot of poetry, back in college, mostly.  Then I read a ton of fiction, and I’ve been on a kick of non-fiction for a few years now.  I’m just happy to be reading in general again, after having stopped for a bit after my son was born.

*The cover of BH I just linked to shows the cast of the most recent screen adaptation, and is a complete bastardization of the novel and of the original BBC miniseries.  However, I will say this: both Matthew Goode and Ben Whishaw are attractive gentlemen, and I didn’t altogether mind getting to look at them on a very large screen for two hours.  But seriously, don’t take it seriously outside of that.

Leave a Reply

