7 Quick-Takes Friday

Image

(The Million Years Since I Did This Edition)

1.  I have a one-year old! Little man is growing up kind of fast.  Someone said a quote once (I forget who) that said that the days are long, but the years are short.  And they’re totally right.  At this time last year I was excited, joyful, exhausted to the point of near-blindness, really cranky because of how tired I was, anxious, nervous, and well-caught up on every episode of every TV show ever because that’s all I did while nursing my son.  And now I’m still all of those things, except we don’t watch much TV aside from the news and when I’m that tired now it’s my own fault for being such a night owl.  

2.  The little guy is getting pretty smart, too.  My parents gave him a birthday gift, a Hungry Caterpillar jack-in-the-box, and he was pretty unimpressed by it.  He watched us rotate the lever around that played the song and made it pop out, and the third time we did it, he found the latch on top that released the caterpillar without having to go through the whole turning of the crank, then promptly shoved it aside.  He hasn’t touched it since.  I feel like that’s a metaphor for something, but I’m not sure what.

3.  I am way too excited for the royal baby to be born.  I don’t know why.  

4. Jen over at Conversion Diary posted a time management exercise that added up all the time it takes to do things that need done around the house.  It looks like this: 

Get out a sheet of paper, and write a list of all the activities you typically try to complete in a 24-hour period — don’t pause to analyze it, just write as quickly as you can. Break the tasks into small components to make sure you don’t miss anything (for example, instead of “kids’ bath time,” list “running bath water and rounding up kids,” “kids in tub,” “washing hair,” “drying and getting dressed,” etc.) Next to each item, write the amount of time that this activity requires for you to do it without rushing. Add up the time. 

Now I don’t feel so bad for being so tired at the end of the day, feeling like I didn’t “do” anything.  

5. We spent the last week in New Jersey visiting family, and I learned a lot! Like how my paternal grandfather died (I had never heard the story – it was a massive heart attack).  And about the time my dad got kicked out of the Boy Scouts.  Also, my mom had the first of three surgeries (two for facial reconstruction, one for aorta-fixing) last Tuesday, and it was super fun to watch her hallucinate as she came off her pain meds.  Like she could see cheetas morphing into leopards in front her eyes and whatnot.  On the plus side, I had Dunkin Donuts coffee for the first time in about five years.

6. Recommendations! I just finished the book “The Fault In Our Stars” by John Green.  It was a well-written book, the kind of well-written that makes you want to give up writing your own book halfway because what’s the point really.  It’s for young adults, and is chockablock full of stuff I feel real young adults would never say, but it was enjoyable nonetheless.  I also recommend the blog Wifeytini, which documents a young wife’s life as a mom to two little ones (one of whom has spina bifida).  It’s one of the funniest blogs I’ve come across – the post on her huge Dana Carvey crush literally had me in tears.  

7. Emmy nominations came out yesterday and I sort of kind of hate the Emmys now, ever since I wrote an article about them a couple of years ago for Relevant Magazine…and they asked me to stop writing them.  (They were awfully nice about it, though.) I had written a couple of them for a few years and then…they broke up with me and were like, “It’s not you, it’s just…well, it’s you.”  So now I HATE THE EMMYS.  But I’m totally still going to watch them.

Leave a Reply

