Lent

My son is learning how to sleep through the night.  He used to wake up every two hours.  Then he’d wake up every four hours.  I thought I could make it on four.  

I can’t make it on four.

So we got the go-ahead from our pediatrician to do a little sleep-training, and the little guy is taking to it beautifully.  Last night was his third night, and he slept from 8pm-6:15am with only the tiniest bit of crying at 5:30am.  If he wakes up, he can put himself back to sleep, by himself! 

Image

So today it only  makes sense that everything is rainbows and unicorns and apple pie and chocolate cake.  <3_____<3

__

I wanted to talk a little bit about Lent since we’re in it.  I gave up watching television this year during the week from 9:30-5, because sometimes days as a Stay At Home Mom get tedious and crazy and I just want to check out mentally instead of make more of an effort.  It’s going fine.  We listen to a lot of NPR.

Printed on the nipples of Dominic’s bottles is the word “Lent,” meaning slow.  I like that.  I like the idea of Lent being a slow time, having the ability to take it easy – not in a lazy way, but in a way where you can look at yourself and your shortcomings honestly and try to work on them to be able to get back to God.  

But it’s still hard to get to that slowness.  I just thought of Lent and how all the Easter candy is up at the grocery store already and how we’ll have to get a basket for Dominic and how my in-laws will most likely visit the week after Easter and there’s so much to do to get the house in order before then, annnnnnnnnnnnnnd…

Slowing down means just thinking about today and where God is in that space of time.  Where I let Him in, which I can hopefully build up to more than just a few minutes at the end of a hectic day, or the minutes in between another one of NPR’s pledge drives.

We’ll see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

