Famous People

So at Mass last night, I had the honored distinction of sitting in front of not one, but two celebrities! One was a local weatherman (he counts, because he’s ON TV), and the other, I’m pretty sure, was the singer Audrey Assad, who is really, really good – check her out here.

I say “pretty sure” because for all I know it wasn’t her at all, and there was no way for me to find out because 1) she and her husband left right after Mass; and 2) I am terrible, terrible with talking to people I think are famous.

Like the weatherman.  At the Starbucks I work at I’ve also had two other newscasters come in from the news we watch every day, and by my reaction you would’ve thought that I had met Brangelina.

“You’re MIKE CLARK! I watch you on the news ALL THE TIME!”

or

“You’re Sheldon Ingram, and I watch you all the time and you’re my favorite and I love your work and –“

Not to mention that I stare at them constantly whenever they’re in, because they seriously look like they’re  in HD.  Like they are super crisp and their makeup makes them look like I’m watching them from my couch at home.  It’s so wierd.

It’s also pretty embarrassing when you think about it.  But it’s my track record.

A number of years ago two friends and I traveled to Kansas for a job interview, and on the plane, seated right in front of us, was Father Benedict Groshel, founder of the Franciscan Friars of the Renewal and pretty much one of the smartest men on the planet.  He has his own EWTN show and is pretty well known in Catholic circles, and he was RIGHT THERE.

So what did we do? Did we introduce ourselves, tell him that he was an inspriation to us? Did I tell him that he founded what is pretty much my favorite religious order ever, and had I not been called to marry Mike and have a family I totally would’ve signed up to join the nuns his order also helped to found?

No.  We just talked about him a lot – all good things – and really loudly, too, like morons.

Oh well.

🙂

Leave a Reply

