Saint of 2012!

I love saints.  I have a few favorites: St. Francis of Assisi, St. Clare, St. Therese of Lisieux.  Last night I read about little St. Dominic Savio (I think he’s the youngest male saint? Not sure) in a biography that was written by another saint, St. Don Bosco.  (I love it when saints knew each other in real life, the same way I love supergroups like the Traveling Wilburys or all those writers like Hemingway and Fitzgerald who hung out in France all the time.)  St. Dominic was this angelic, perfect little boy of a human being who desired to be like Jesus so much that he was really excited to die – and die he did, when he was 15 of illness (I’m not exactly sure which.  I’m a horrible hagiographer, is the lesson here.)  And so little St. Dominic dies and he appears to Don Bosco in a vision like 20 years later and Don Bosco asks him if he’s in heaven and he says yes, although it took the help of the Blessed Virgin, and that’s when I throw my hands up in the air and just say “WHAT’S THE POINT” because I’m nowhere near as good or as holy or as pure as St. Dominic Savio and the book made it sound like he got in through the skin of his teeth.  

But maybe I’ll get some help too and I’ll get in by the skin of mine.  In which case, score.  I’m in!

__

ANYWAY.  So, saints.  Do you have any favorites? Any patron saints that you especially ask for prayers? One of the most awesome Catholic bloggers on the Internet, Jennifer Fulwiler of “Conversion Diary,” is hosting this “Saints Name Generator” you can use to find a patron saint for this new year.

I tried it and got St. John the Apostle, which I was really excited about because 1) love him and 2) I can imagine him as the St. John portrayed in Mel Gibson’s “The Passion of the Christ,” because that actor was SMOKING HOT.  And also Italian.  I mean.

It’s fun! Give it a try:

http://jenniferfulwiler.com/saints/

Hope your new year is awesome! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

