I Know I Could Have Loved You But You Would Not Let Me

We need to talk about Stevie Nicks for a minute.  I mean, watch the video!

Stevie is all angsty and Lindsey is all man-angsty and she’s all like “I’ve loved you my whole life but you’re like a drug and I have you you’ll kill me” and he’s like “Same!”

They need each other but will never have each other! Ugh!

Love it.

I feel as though it would not be a shameful thing to look like Stevie Nicks when I’m in my fifties.  I just think she’s beautiful! Haha.  …And also because she has that gypsy-ish look to her, all black-wearing and long blonde hair.  She seems like the “cool aunt,” the one with the crystals dangling from every windowpane and who gives you a glass of wine when you’re really upset about some boy dumping you right before the prom.

I mention all of this because I’m going to a bachelorette party this Saturday night, and among the planned festivities is to have a tarot card reading, which I’ve never seen before, and what, in my imagination, Stevie Nicks does on a weekly basis.  I’ve decided to opt out of it for the reason that it’s not “Catholic-kosher,” so to speak, and it’s interesting because it’s the first time in a long time I can think of when I’ve not done something because of my faith.

I don’t know; I mean, it kinda squicks me out, the idea of someone “telling my fortune.”  Like I really don’t believe that anything that is truth will come of it, but I also don’t want to invite the Devil to come hang out, either, know what I mean?

Because as far as I understand it, Catholics kinda look down upon things like tarot readings and fortune telling and oijua boards and such because they place trust in something that isn’t God, so it dishonors the first commandment.  And I’ve worked really hard to get where I’m at when it comes to putting my trust in God in a daily basis,  so why break the bruised reed, you know? And if the readings are, in fact, invites for the Devil to sneak his way in and start some stuff, then…yeah, don’t need that, either.

And, at the very least, even if it was just done as pure, 100% entertainment, I just know my particular reading would pretty much be the same as Pee Wee Herman’s in “Pee Wee’s Big Adventure,” when he is desperate to know what’s become of his most treasured possession (his bicycle).  The reader is clearly faking the whole thing to get more money, and she answers “the basement of the Alamo.”   (Without giving you any spoilers to this awesome movie, he finds out there is no basement in the Alamo.)

I’m sure I’ll still have an awesome time, and I’m sure it’ll be fun.  Besides, there will also be a wine tasting happening at the same time as the readings, so at the very least, you can count on me totally blitzed out on wine, using a bottle as a microphone to belt out my very best Stevie Nicks impression.

But only in my head, of course, because I’ll be in a public place and to actually do that…would be moronic.  🙂

4 thoughts on “I Know I Could Have Loved You But You Would Not Let Me

  1. I have so many comments… first, my mom LOVES Stevie Nicks (and Fleetwood Mac). She’s seen them both in concert in the past five years or so. We grew up on their music and I’m absolutely transfixed every time either Stevie Nicks or Fleetwood Mac come on the radio. They just feel like home to me.

    As for fortune telling, I believe most fortune tellers are just good “people readers” who can take cues from you and tell you something (vague) about your life, and most of what they say can be applied to any human being. I mean, if you don’t have a wedding ring on, they could say something about your love life and it’s bound to be somewhat accurate. But I think that there are a few people out there that really “practice the black arts”, so I would stay away from it too. Better to be safe than sorry.

  2. I’m a big Fleetwood Mac fan, too! Yeah, I kind of feel the same about the reading, but I also know myself and know I would totally obsess over whatever was said…and the less obsessing I do, the better, haha.

    Thanks for reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

