It Takes Time.

Holy Week.

Wait for the LORD; be strong, and let your heart take courage; yea, wait for the LORD! (Psalm 27:14)

…But I can’t wait! I’m an American! A young American who is used to everything at lightning speed! I need everything at my immediate disposal so I can forget it – who needs to remember anything? I can just skate on over to the Internet that is always readily available, and Google it!

I’m mostly kidding.

But think about it: the message of “Wait on the Lord” is so counter to what we see and hear every day.  Waiting is such a foreign concept.  Yeah, we still wait, I guess – wait for a bus, wait in line at the deli counter, things like that; but even when we’re there we’re checking our phones, texting, whatever.  And I do this all the time, so I’m not blaming anyone or judging at all.   But I notice that, for myself, when I distract myself, I chip away at that reserve of patience I’ve built up for myself over the years.

I’m horrible with patience, and so maybe it’s not that farfetched for me to want God to act the way I’m used to seeing other things act.  I can find out any piece of information that I choose pretty much instantly if I have access to the Internet; so I get really frustrated when God doesn’t answer my prayers at lightning speed.  I get hungry so I go to the grocery store, where there are at least fifteen different types of snacks in any one given category to choose from; so I get angry when God “limits” my endless possibilities for my life.

So it’s hard to wait, but the challenge is there.  “Be still and I know that I am God,” He said.  Be still.  “Wait for the Lord.”  Wait.

I forget this a lot, but Jesus wasn’t a teenager when He died.  He was a man.  He had to grow up first.  Moses was super old before he freed the Israelites from slavery.  He didn’t do it from the bamboo-reed basket the Pharoah’s daughter found him in when she picked him up out of the river.  He had to grow up.  Waaay up.

Things take time.  It takes weeks to get from Ash Wednesday to Easter; it takes days to get from Palm Sunday to Easter.   It takes time to be formed by God into whatever we’re going to be.

It’s so comforting to me that His ways are not like my ways. It is nice to know that there is someone who is so infinitely full of mercy, love, and forgiveness that everything else pales in comparison; and when He says wait, I’ll wait.  And when I bring something to Him in prayer, I can know that just because things haven’t happened quickly enough for me doesn’t mean He hasn’t heard me – it just means it’s being addressed in the best time for me – His.

One thought on “It Takes Time.

Leave a Reply

