Commitment.

“Into thy hand I commit my spirit; thou hast redeemed me, O LORD, faithful God. Thou hatest those who pay regard to vain idols; but I trust in the LORD. But I trust in thee, O LORD, I say, “Thou art my God.” My times are in thy hand; deliver me from the hand of my enemies and persecutors! Let thy face shine on thy servant; save me in thy steadfast love!” (Psalm 31:5-16)

Committing one’s spirit, I’ve found, is a daily task, best worked into a routine: before breakfast, say, or maybe sometime in the afternoon. Everyone knows this as said by Jesus on the Cross just before He died*,  but said daily, can also be a very powerful affirmation.

Committing the spirit.  Handing it over.  Saying to God, “Here it is.  It’s a bit frail, a little fragile.  It’s curious and wonderful, but it looks at everything with a weary eye, because it’s been hurt before and has problems trusting.  It’s not sure if it can take any more brokenness.”

The Bible references the Lord not willing to “break a bruised reed.” Is your soul bruised? Do you have disappointments that were so strong you feel that another one, no matter how small, will destroy you? Is your spirit weary? God’s knows.  And not only that, He’ll fix it.  It’s His by proxy, right? You’re His child, and your spirit, as such, comes from Him.  And He can fix it.  He has the technology, and – you’ll never guess this – the WILL to fix you.  He loves you that much.

The reason why it’s better to commit your spirit to God every day is not for His benefit. He doesn’t forget He has it when you give it to him each day.  But you might.  You might forget, and so might worry it back into your possession.  You might think about what might happen in two weeks, what might happen in six years, what might happen when you have kids or what will happen if your parents become ill.  And all of that worry and anxiety takes your spirit right out of God’s hands and puts it right back into yours, which really is fine – if you want it to stay how it is – an anchor, a heavy weight.

But spirits were meant to fly. Give yours to God every day so He can glue another feather on it so it can soar, so it means something when you say it the way Jesus said it – meaningfully, almost gratefully – when it’s your time up on the Cross.

 

*Which, by the way – I mean, if I were up on a cross, best believe I wouldn’t be quoting Scripture.  I’d be quoting some other things, horrible four-letter words in between horrible wails of pain and sobs and promises of vengeance on whoever put me up there in the first place.  But then again, that is why Jesus is the Savior and I most definitely am not.

2 thoughts on “Commitment.

Leave a Reply

