Trawling, Feeding, Swimming

One of my favorite things about God is that for all of the love He has for us (and it is plenty of love, don’t get me wrong), it’s surprising how little He depends on us for things that might interest Him.

I was thinking about this a couple of years ago and was reminded of this recently, when the other day, sick with a cold and lying on the futon, I checked out Disney’s “Oceans” documentary on Netflix.  It was one of those movies I had wanted to see in theaters for the experience of it, but didn’t because I also did not want the experience of watching it with a theaterful of small, loud children.  (I love kids, a lot, but I don’t have them yet; and when you’re not accustomed to that type of noise level in a theater it can be somewhat…off-putting.)  I liked it well enough; the cinematography was great, and it showcased a lot of the things that fascinate me most about the ocean: its power, its inhabitants, and its beauty.

It focused on all manner of creatures, some really familiar to me, like otters and seals and walruses and dolphins, but it also showed those really creepy ones, those deep, dark-sea dwellers that look like ghosts (or fish who have seen ghosts, they’re so terrorized).  The ones you would never see if a camera wasn’t yet invented that could withstand that amount of pressure, the kind that would make a human’s head explode, should it want to go down as far.

(I mean, if these dudes didn’t light themselves up, you would never see them.  Like, ever.)

And that’s my point: God created these things knowing that, for as long as it took for the Earth to produce the technology to create cameras to explore those places, man would never see them. They still existed, trawling the deep, feeding and swimming and doing what these creatures do, without us having to recognize them or to validate them.  God didn’t need our permission; He wanted them to exist without us.  They have a purpose, even if it doesn’t make sense to us; and even if they didn’t contribute anything to the oceanic ecosystem, it doesn’t matter.  What matters is that God wants it.

It makes sense, and I’m not so stupid as to suggest that we are the be-all-end-all of God’s creation.  We are, I think, favored most among them, but it’s so fascinating to me (and relieving to me) to know that although God loves us, He doesn’t depend on us the way we sometimes think He might.  There are things on this Earth humans will have no knowledge of that God created, maybe for Himself, and I love that.  I love that God wanted these crazy-scary-looking things to exist without our permission.  I love that He didn’t care that no one else would know they were there; they were there because He wanted them, and it didn’t matter anyway: He loved them and created them anyhow.

As humans, we are so careful to acknowledge and validate each other. We assign each other titles, we express our gratitude, we assign success and glory.  But what’s so great about God is that even if no one in the world knew who we were; even if we had no family and no friends and contributed nothing whatsoever towards the advancement of the human race, He would still want us.  He would still know we were there, trawling along, feeding and walking and doing what we do.  He would still want us to exist.

Leave a Reply

