Our Daily Bagel

I love bread.  I really do.  I actually get excited when we have bagels at home so when I wake up I can have one.  It’s serious! Someone asked me once how I would die if I could choose how, and I told her I could die by just eating too much bread.

And I know man can’t live by bread alone, but…it is very tasty.

I was thinking about bread today for two reasons: 1) because I’ve been increasingly hungry lately, which either means I’m not getting enough calories after yoga, or my ulcer is acting up again; and 2) of its use in prayer, specifically the Our Father.

I’ve been told that the Our Father is the perfect prayer.  It rightly honors God, humbles us, implores His will to be done, and asks for His provision.  “Give us this day our daily bread.”

Sounds good, right? Sure.  I pray it all the time.  But I’m realizing that when I get really stressed out about my life – what I’m doing with it, whether or not I’m honoring God and doing His will with it, if I will have my needs met or not – I pray the Our Father a bit differently.  It looks like this:

Give us this day our daily bread…
and bread for the day after that…
and bread for the week after that…
and bread for the entire next ten years…
not that I’ll use it, of course – I’ll be responsible with it –
but I just want to know it’ll be there…

And forgive us our trespasses…

And I realized that God doesn’t work that way.  He asks for our trust in Him, our unconditional trust.  So if I have faith that He will provide, I’ll be able to see that much more easily than if my vision were clouded by my anxiety and worry.  And there’s no place for that, either, as the Gospel this past Sunday at Mass taught us:

25 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life, what you will eat or drink; or about your body, what you will wear. Is not life more than food, and the body more than clothes? 26 Look at the birds of the air; they do not sow or reap or store away in barns, and yet your heavenly Father feeds them. Are you not much more valuable than they? 27 Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life?

28 “And why do you worry about clothes? See how the flowers of the field grow. They do not labor or spin. 29 Yet I tell you that not even Solomon in all his splendor was dressed like one of these. 30 If that is how God clothes the grass of the field, which is here today and tomorrow is thrown into the fire, will he not much more clothe you—you of little faith? 31 So do not worry, saying, ‘What shall we eat?’ or ‘What shall we drink?’ or ‘What shall we wear?’ 32 For the pagans run after all these things, and your heavenly Father knows that you need them. 33 But seek first his kingdom and his righteousness, and all these things will be given to you as well. 34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

(Matthew 6:25-34)

So when you have days when you feel completely overwhelmed, remember that if we are people of faith, we have security in God.  Sure, it doesn’t look the way we necessarily want it to (who really wants to live one day at a time? Nobody.  But we do it.)  but God has so much more fullness and life planned for us than we could ever design on our own.

I hope you’re having a good week.  Here’s to more trust in God! Pass the bagels!

One thought on “Our Daily Bagel

  1. This was the Gospel this week, right?

    My husband and I had a good talk this weekend about our stresses and worries and then we heard this the next day. It was so needed.

    One of the prayers I’ve started praying recently (and need to do more) especially when I’m going through a flare of pain, is “Lord, get me through until this is through.” That probably doesn’t make sense. It does in my head. I’m not saying just only rely on God in times of trouble, but that usually our trouble ends. And its overwhelming to think about how/when/why, but usually we know we will come out on the other side. So it helps me to pray just for getting through that storm until things are okay again.

    Also, I LOVE bagels. A lot. There is an amazing bagel place a town we are thinking about moving to after graduation. Might be a deciding factor.

Leave a Reply

