Project 31 Catch-Up!

I’m finally getting around to catching up on about a week’s worth of Project 31 entries.  Sorry for the delay!

Day 17.  Write about 3 things that make you happy.

  • When I open the Bible and find a scripture passage that just hits me.  It makes me feel as though God is listening and is speaking through Scripture to me, and it’s really, really cool.
  • My husband making dinner for me on Sunday evenings.  I cook dinner most of the other nights of the week, and it’s really relaxing to have that one day where I don’t have to worry about what to make!
  • Watching interviews of writers, artists, and other creative people.  It’s a real joy for me to be able to listen in on what makes these people tick – to be able to learn from these successful folks and the process they go through to create their art.

Day 18.  Describe your personality.

(I’ll have to think a bit more about this one, really.  I’ll let you know.)

Day 19.  Write about your favorite comfort food (we are women- we ALL have comfort food!)

My favorite comfort food are bagels.  I love them.  I love them so much that if I could choose a way to die, it would be from eating too many bagels.

Day 20.  Write about your job and why you love it or hate it.

Funny story! Just a couple of entries ago I wrote about my experience being one of the very many American unemployed (but I’ve graduated! I’m now under-employed! Which is still hard, but really so much better.)  I now work part-time as a coffee barista at a coffee shop, and although it’s not my ideal situation, I still really do like it a lot.  I’ve met a ton of amazing people that I work with and I get to hear a lot of funny stories, plus it gets me out of the house — and gives me the holy grail of health insurance.  I don’t make a lot of money, and it’s really disheartening for me when I feel (as I often do) that I can’t contribute more to our finances, but that’s something I’m learning to deal with more and more each day.

I’m also a part-time freelance writer, and I’m currently working on editing my first book, which I finished last year.  (It’s a Catholic memoir/series of essays on faith.)  I also contribute articles here and there, and hopefully with some more work and more time I’ll be able to build a more full portfolio.

I love writing – I always have – but there’s a lot of struggle in it, too.  A lot of both love and hate, but it’s a nice feeling to know that love always wins.

🙂

For more Project 31, check out Mandy’s blog, She Breathes Deeply, on my sidebar!

Hope your day is going well!

Leave a Reply

