Project 31: Wearing Out & Finding Change

(Sorry about the lack of daily updating! I barely know what to do with myself these days since I am all over the place with my sleep schedule and work schedule.  And the weather here in Pittsburgh doesn’t know what to do with itself, either: in just the past 12 hours it’s been 40 degrees, sunny, warm, rainy, cloudy, windy, 29 degrees, freezing, snowing, rainy, and sunny.  Yikes!)

Project 31.12:  Write about what wears you out as a woman.

Um…probably pressure.

Women are pressured to do a whole lot these days: be a perfect wife.  Be a good cook.  Look really good, all the time.   Be a lady in the streets, but a freak in the sheets.  That sort of thing.  And it wears on you, man.  We get so caught up in what’s expected of us that we lose sight of what we want and what we were created for; and although there’s nothing wrong with being a good wife, or a good cook, or always being beautiful, it seems as though we have to work that much harder to find our individuality in it.

But, there’s always hope! 🙂

Project 31.13.  Write about something you would like to change about yourself for the better.

I would change my second-guessing.  I do this all the time: did I say this right? Did I come off as really vapid, or shallow that time I was talking to that group of people? Did I seem prideful at work when all I wanted to do was a good job? Did I come off as trying too hard? Did I really look like a hipster when I meant to look hip-hop?

It sucks.  It’s pretty draining, too.

At work today someone came up to take an order, and they placed an order for a latte and a sandwich in the most insecure, unsure voice possible.  And I felt myself getting so frustrated, and thinking, “It’s not everything, dude.  It’s not the whole world, it’s just a latte.”

It’s “just” something for me, too.  I don’t have to get so neurotic all the time.  Getting good perspective helps.  It’s all about perspective.  So much of what we think is important in our lives is really absolutely of very little importance in the grand scheme.  The world really doesn’t revolve around us.  Isn’t that great? 🙂

For more about Project 31, check out Mandy’s blog here! 🙂

Leave a Reply

