Project 31: Virtue

Project 31.9.  What virtues do you value in yourself?

I had to check out Wikipedia (sad, I know) for this one:

In Catholic catechism, the seven virtues refer to one of two lists of virtues, most commonly referring to the 4 cardinal virtues of prudence, justice, restraint or temperance, and courage or fortitude, and the 3 theological virtues of faith, hope, and love or charity; these were adopted by the Church Fathers.

An alternative list, the seven heavenly virtues, is opposed to the seven deadly sins, and consists of chastity, temperance, charity, diligence, patience, kindness, and humility.

Well, from this list I guess I would have to say that I most value in myself the virtues of love, kindness, chastity (not to be confused with abstinence — it’s pretty easy to be chaste when you’re married, haha), and temperance.

The ones I really have to work on, though, are the rest, particularly courage, faith, and hope.

If I had to choose a “secular” virtue I like about myself, I’d like to think it’s my sense of humor.  To quote the movie “Garden State”:

If you can’t laugh at yourself, life is going to seem a lot longer than you’d like.

Have a good day! 🙂

For more Project 31, check out the source at She Breathes Deeply!

Leave a Reply

