Project 31: Jaded beauty

Project 31.6:  Jaded beauty.  Has the world’s definition of beauty ever jaded you?

Well, yeah.

I mean, it’s pretty much impossible to not be almost numbed-out by what the Western image of beauty not only does to women, but to entire cultures.   And it’s interesting, because I like to think that I’m smarter than advertisers, or more clever than magazine photos, but sometimes I’m still taken in by it.  I read the entire article about how to make my eyes pop or how to dress to look slimmer or whatever, but then I remember that in the end, it’s mostly about money.  That’s all.  It’s about making other people happy, usually men and women in the business world who are trying to get me to buy something.  And while I’m not totally ascetic – I mean, I own makeup and whenever I do buy clothes I want to look nice – and I do understand that people do judge others by their appearance (it’s true; I mean, we do) I try to keep that perspective in mind.

And I’m also encouraged, because I know so many other men and women out there who see beauty as so much more than just the outside (man, that sounds so cliche!) But it’s true.  They see beauty as humor, kindness, sacrifice, and love.

If you’re struggling with body issues, a really good resource I’ve found is Finding Balance, which hosts a ton of videos and talks on body image, self esteem, and stuff like that.  It’s helped me look past what the world might define as beautiful and towards the greatness that is the human body – which is pretty incredible in and of itself.

For more on Project 31, check out Mandy’s blog here.  Have a great night!

6 thoughts on “Project 31: Jaded beauty

  1. Great to see so many ladies being real in response to this question. I think pretty much all of us can relate to this issue regardless of what we look like or how we dress. IT’s a big issue in our culture. Thanks for being real!

    • I totally agree! It’s so nice to be able to talk to a bunch of other folks about the reality of these issues — because the pain and hurt that comes from them is just as real, too! 🙂

    • Thanks! Yeah, it kinda sucks, lol – it’s like all rationality goes out the window if a commercial/magazine/whatever is totally irresistible. But we can do it! Haha.

Leave a Reply

